Am I Being Unreasonable?

Toon

OWN IT!
I just had a quite unpleasant evening at league tonight.

NT State Championships are coming up and we need to nominate 3 games to use a qualifying. I picked tonight which is fine. It costs $38 on top on league fees of $25 to nominate. Bit steep but ok.

I started practicing and the odd lane had a pinsetter that stopped every second shot. Causing the tech having to stop play and fix it every frame. I counted 42 scores that had to be changed. As well as having to stop play constantly. Not to mention due to overbooking the league the night started 20 minutes late.

After we finished, which I did bowl terrible. My own fault.

I told the staff member that I am not using this night as qualifier as the pinsetter was having issues all night and I am not paying $40 for it.

Was told i was stealing from the centre and I have a lot to learn about bowling etc.

Am I being unreasonable? If you were qualifying for a tournament and had the machines breaking every frame, would you have complaints?

All i said, was that Im not paying for the qualifier and I will qualify next week when the lanes are playing up.

Do people think that is fair?

If you had bowled well, would you have used the scores? If you felt it was enough of an issue to affect your qualifying, you should have let them know as soon as you realised it was going to be an issue. Do you really think you should get a freeroll because of machine malfunction?

G'Day Toon,

At the end of the day all you can expect is that the three games would be hassle free, typical league night. Then if you bowl bad so be it.

But if the centre equipment has been shocking, in this case you are not saying the lane conditions where not to your liking, but that the pin setters where faulty causing delays. Then I would expect the centre to say, sorry mate, happy for you to try again next week.