To smoke or not to smoke???

J

jstroh

OK, I am very new to all this and have spent most of today reading all the forums and have found them very informative and well as interesting. I only began tournament bowling in December 2001 and I now am really hooked.

Now, I have some questions and the first one is about the non-smoking rule.

It was my understanding that whilst competing in Tournaments under TBA ruling, no smoking was allowed during competition.

Whilst competing in the B Grade Ladies Christmas Tournament, I was informed no smoking until completion of the finals. This I found very tough going as it was my first competition. Whilst bowling the rounds was not a problem, I felt very negative when I had to sit around for about an hour and half whilst waiting to compete in the finals.

This again happened the following week during the A Grade.

I was lucky enough to compete in the Country Cup at Woodville and to my amazement, when bowlers were not required on the lanes, they were smoking. Isn't Country Cup governed by the same rules?

Whilst I totally agree that during the actual game, there should be no smoking, I am a little confused as to what the guideline is and how it applies.

Now whilst bowling at the Walter de Veere, the ruling of no smoking was applied and whilst there was not a great amount of time anyway, I am unsure of the difference between the tournaments.

I hope someone can give me clear direction on this as so far every avenue has been a dead end.

Julia, I think you may have to make a choice between cigarettes and tournaments. The higher up the tournament ladder you climb, the fitter you will need to be.
Some tourneys require you to bowl over a dozen games a day, and in singles format that is fairly demanding.
This may not be a serious answer to your question, but anyone struggling with the non-smoking rules can't be that serious about their bowling.