Reactive Ball With Conventional Grip?

The Butcher

Hi,

Just wanted to get some advice, and thank you for accepting my registration.

I've been bowling now for two years, and average in the high 150's. I started off with a 10lb plastic ball (which ended up cracking), and then moved to a fingertip grip & 13lb Storm IQ Tour Fusion, but in the process of learning how to hook, I injured my wrist...

I bowl in two leagues a week, and so, to keep bowling, went back to a 9lb Storm Black Ice (conventional grip) while my wrist recovered, and in the process nailed some all-time high games and series (200+ games and 500+ series).

Eventually, the wrist healed and the 9lb became too light, so I went back to my IQ Tour Fusion with little to no problems. However, after experiencing a rut with my bowling just over a month ago, I started bowling with a 13lb house ball, and found something very interesting.....

Not only did my average increase by 10 pins, but my action was completely different with good follow-through (where with the IQ I had very minimal to no follow-through).

My local Pro Shop has now suggested I buy a Storm Rocket, drill it Pin Down, but with a Conventional grip, so that I get a consistent release with good follow-through, and they say that drilling it Pin Down / Conventional should give the ball just enough hook to curve calmly into the pocket and give me good pin carry because the ball has a decent core....

Does this sound plausible and correct?

My two highest series' scores of 572 & 547 were bowled with house balls (12lb & 13lb), and my bowling action is ten times more comfortable bowling conventional, so if possible I would like to stick to that....

Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Hey Butcher,

I am just a house hack, I but I have suffered from wrist issues in the past.