Getting more hook

N

Numbat24

I've been bowling in league (junior) for about a year now, and i am just beginning to bowl with a hook. My league average is a very poor 120, although when I practice I probably average 140-150, i must be the fact I'm more relaxed during practice. Anyway, I have a discarded second-hand 'Olympic' bowling ball, which I bought for $20 and am having trouble getting a hook on it. I can get it to hook fairly about two thirds down the lane, but once it nears the pocket it seems to lose its hook and just go straight into the pins. I suspect it is because of the ball and the way it is drilled.
Although I can string up to 6 strikes in a row (my high score is a mere 207), I want to begin bowling a proper hook and am thinking of buying another ball for my strike ball. Can you recommend any good, cheap balls in the $100-150 price-range, which are good for a beginner-intermediate bowler, and an easy-to-control hook. Also,
any tips on how to achieve more hook would be helpful, I've heard bending or 'cocking' the wrist helps, but this doesn't seem to work for me. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Hey dude

Hey bud,