Fairlanes City

Carl D

Hi, everyone.

I was just wondering if anyone had any information on what exactly happened with Fairlanes City? As most of you probably know, I was a mechanic there for 18 years.

Previous threads about this are here and here.

The bowl was supposed to have been demolished last July along with the old ABC radio and TV studios next door to make way for 9 buildings comprising 192 apartments with 4 commercial buildings.

Well, as many of you are no doubt aware, the bowl is still there and the lanes and machines are still inside, probably covered in an inch of dust by now. It has been sold to the developers as far as I know and the developer's web site shows it as a 'Future Project'. At the moment, Wilson Parking are using the upper and lower carparks to sell $2 an hour parking.

I believe someone was approached towards the end of last year about the possibility of re-opening the bowl on a temporary basis, but, since 8 of the 12 ball returns have been removed (gone to Bunbury, I believe) and the airconditioning units were removed and scrapped early last year plus everything else (cafe, office, etc.) that could be sold was sold at auction in January last year it would be a very expensive exercise to re-open the bowl so it looks like it isn't ever going to happen.

I heard someone from Victoria (I think) was looking at buying just the 24 Brunswick 'A' pinsetters a few months back but I don't know if he's still going ahead with it.

Bit of a shame really, the bowl could probably have been kept open for another 2 years at least. Something must have gone wrong with the finance or the plans? And, the last I heard, the ABC site next to the bowl hadn't been sold, it was still owned by the Federal Government and the Adelaide Terrace part is heritage listed so it can't be demolished anyway.

Very strange...

Sounds like you might be a little home sick there Carl.:D Baron
Hi, Greg.:p