Tips for the budding Mechanic!!

baron

Tip one: Oiling the lanes
Always one of my pet hates I hated oiling the lanes especially on a Sunday morning with a raging hang-over and why anyone would want to bowl league on a Sunday I will never know. There had to be an easier way so eventually I would just push the Century (or worse the ol Uni-matic)up the side aisle and leave it parked there. Then I would spend the next hour in the canteen ****ing back coffee or playing pinnies with Wimpy and when bowlers started filtering in I would just push it straight down the back again. For added effect I would sometimes unwind the cord and plug it in. Worked for years and the look on the bowlers faces was priceless.

Tip 2: Keeping cool on a hot summers day
When I was a mechanic way back in the 80's we didnt have fancy things like air conditioners no no no we had to resort to other means. One of my favourites was to get a couple of damp clean lane towels and lay them on the catwalks on top of lanes 11 and 12. Then put both lanes on workshop and make sure any bowlers who came in were put right down the other end (trouble bells turned off of course) Then I would crank the ceiling fan above 11 and 12 up to full speed, grab a few more towels for a pillow, and turn the back-end motors on then lay back with my feet up on the railings and let the gentle rocking of the machine put me to sleep. Ahhh getting sleepy just thinking about it. Of couse a quick dip in Gio's pool always helped. Answered many a call wringing wet in my togs.
Tip 3: Cleaning pins