Help for back-up bowlers

C

crazzzed

Hi all,
I was helping a friend the other day who is a back-up bowler. As i'm a hook bowler it alittle different when instructing a backwards bowler :lol: I was trying to help move the track lower - full roller currently. I'm having trouble working out a way to get the thumb out earlier so theres more fingers on the ball as the wrist is broken. We are trying to strengthen that, until then though does anyone out there know any tricks/tips/techniques that might help with these two things?
Its amazing how much we take for granted when you already have the basics and know what it feels like. This bowler is self taught so its a matter of breaking some old habits aswell.
Thx
B

Help for Backup Bowlers

Crazzzed

I do not know if you are are coach or not or just a friend helping out - Some things are best left for coaches.

This is one of those things - I will give you an answer - and there are probably very many ways you can tackle this issue - but firstly a coach would decide if the person is definitely a back up bowler - what the bowler wants to do in the sport - How grooved his actions are (repetitive). There are tests a coach will do to determine if making what the athlete does naturally cannot be trained in a diferent manner - this test is called 'drop and spin' - The description below identifies a reverse hook action.

Without any idea of what your friend does and that is the limitation of the written word with no video - I can tell you a backup bowler will always swing the ball from the top of the backswing to the bottom of the swing in towards the body before the release point.