Two Handed and One Handed Deliveries

Emery_Paper

I have been bowling two handed for almost two years now. On most conditions I deliver my strike balls two handed, but I take my right hand spares with one hand, along with some certain other pin combinations. Some people in the travel league that I bowl in have taken issue with my bowling.

On Saturday, a league meeting addressed a protest submitted by these people. They said that the way I bowl is cheating.

They believe the underlined part of the following rule prevents me from bowling the way that I do. It was introduced into the TBA rules in July 2010.

RULE 122 AVERAGE - DEFINITION OF
A bowling average is determined by dividing the total number of pins credited to a bowler by the number of games bowled in one league in a season.
When establishing an average in league play, a right-handed bowler must bowl right-handed at all times. Similarly, a left-handed bowler must bowl left-handed at all times. Penalty: forfeiture of game.
No combination of scores bowled both right and left-handed will be used in computing an average.

The same rules apply to a bowler delivering the ball conventionally or two handed. In any scores used to compute an average, the ball must be delivered the same way.
A new average must be established if the bowler finds it necessary to change his delivery from right to left-handed or vice versa. Refer to Rule 213 for further details on deliveries.
In all cases, extra pins or fractions must be disregarded when using averages for handicapping or classification purposes. The extra pins will be reduced to a percentage of a pin only for the purpose of deciding individual position standings in a league.

When read, this clause says that regardless of whether the bowler bowls two handed or one handed the ball “must be delivered the same way.” Referring to rule 213 on deliveries we see that the ball can be delivered in one of two ways – left handed or right handed.