Serious Question. How does a BALL affect CARRY

jimcross

Does the structure of a ball produce more or less carry? What I mean is, if say, it was possible to drill four balls, because of their different construction, with four different layouts, so that delivered by someone with a good release, and constant speed, they followed the same line to the pocket, each preferably drilled to produce a mild movement on the lane, is their 'carry' potential the same, or different?
If different - why?

I'm no expert Jim, but I believe it has a lot to do with the cores. Some just hit harder than others. If you keep ringing 10 pins, particularly on some of these WTBA patterns, you can try changing your release to get a different roll, but a lot of the time, you will still ring a 10 pin. So a different ball is the answer. Others will probably be able to explain it better than I have though...

Carry is the product of correct entry angle and and good transitions onlane. Different covers/cores/layouts will result in the balls transitioning sooner/later/differently on the pattern, which changes the entry angle and roll at the pocket.

Sorry Jim, didn't actually answer what you asked - if the 4 balls follow the same line to the pocket with the same transitions in the same places onlane, the carry should be very similar. This is one case where the actual ball surface and statics might make minor differences to the carry %age, but not much.

Does the structure of a ball produce more or less carry? What I mean is, if say, it was possible to drill four balls, because of their different construction, with four different layouts, so that delivered by someone with a good release, and constant speed, they followed the same line to the pocket, each preferably drilled to produce a mild movement on the lane, is their 'carry' potential the same, or different?
If different - why?

Jim, it is extremely difficult to get 4 different balls (even with 4 differentlayouts to react the same way.