Finger Grips

I'm wondering what other bowlers thoughts are on using finger grips,Thumb slugs etc

The reason I ask is I just recently stepped up to a reactive ball and when I had it drill I was told if I hadn't used finger grips before I didn't need them??

They seem to be used a lot.

Any thoughts???

I was told if I hadn't used finger grips before I didn't need them??

Could this be taken as.....
"Since you havent used grips before and are not used to the feel of them, you can try Fingertip without them as you dont need to have them for Finger Tip Drillings"

Could this be taken as.....
"Since you havent used grips before and are not used to the feel of them, you can try Fingertip without them as you dont need to have them for Finger Tip Drillings"

Yeah I think thats what he meant
I guess the question I'm asking is Do I need them
Ive been bowling fingertip for a few years new without them should I be using them what advantage are they??

Hi Nev

In my opinion, its comes down to the individual..... I know bowlers who wont use grips as they prefer the feel of the actual hole and others who prefer the feel of grips.

I suppose an advantage of using grips would be the ease of changing the grip size....I was told once that grips assisted with lift, but people like Scoops throw that theory out of the water :p

Im unsure of any drilling advantages of using grips....Maybe Tonx can advise on that?

Drilling advantages?

It's possible to take out more fingerweight by using grips? This in turn would mean a longer pin to cg distance wouldn't be needed to keep the ball legal for pin above drillings. Apart from that, any driller worth his weight in salt should be able to drill both styles with no problems.

The difference is the grip offers a completely different feel. Thats about it really.