top 10 tasmanians ever

M

mattri

just to get an idea, i have been bowling for 12 years i just would like to get an idea of peoples thoughts on who the top 10 tasmanian bowlers to have ever bowled are.

i have a few names that come to mind.
Ashley Riley for 1 has been by far the most consistant bowler since i can remember. Others that also have stood out would have to be Matt Burtt, Tony Gounta or who ever you spell it, Vince (cant think of his last name but he managed moonah) Ted Tiluki has been around for ever and still managers to throw a 200 averge. Just a few names

Any other thoughts would be great

Matt Riley

forgot one name there, cricky has been around for ages too, one of the states best and consistant bowlers

Sorry GAZ
icon_mad.gif

Hi Matt,

Nice to see that you did remember me - EVENTUALLY !!!!

Just to help you out with the spelling - that would be Tony Guinta, Geoff Vince & Ted Tylutki.

I started bowling about 30 years ago and here are just a few more names that should be considered :-

Danny Corbett - captained the Tasmanian team that won Rachuig in 1985.

Rodney Ratcliffe - was also in the winning Rachuig team and bowled the 2nd 300 in Rachuig.

Alan Coleman - another member of the 1985 Rachuig side and also won the Australian Masters.

Alex Pesti - the grandfather of Tasmanian bowling who was years ahead of his time.

There are probably a few others but when you get to be my age, the brain cells don't work quite as well as they should.

icon_confused.gif
icon_confused.gif
icon_confused.gif

Hi Cricky,
Are you sure it was 1981, how about 1985 in Woodville, SA.
I remember it because it was the first time i had been to the Nationals and luckily enough for me i witnessed Tassies first Rachuig win.
See you soon young fella!
icon_biggrin.gif
icon_biggrin.gif
icon_biggrin.gif

You are quite right Brett - 1985 was the year.

As I said, the brain cells are not what they used to be - but at least I had the right decade.