How many years bowling before you are "PAST IT" ?

P

petebowl

I have been bowling since 1960 and have always considered myself to be competitive in any competition, on most occasions.
Lately though my results have been abysmal, my tournament average is currently lower than at any time in the last 35 years.As a junior, bowling with rubber bowling balls, my tournament scores were higher than at present !
Is this the worst form slump in history OR

Is it time for me to hang up my balls (so to speak)

Pete

My advice is don't let Mt Warren Park haze your vision .. I averaged somewhere close to 155 there in Brisbane team trials a few years back .. bowled my best game (a 180- something) throwing my conventional urethane ball two fingers.

Be a fighter .. get up .. dust yourself off and start again. You are never too old !!

Graham
this question is not from just one event. Last year I rarely missed a final, this year I have not made a single final.
As the world's worst spectator, these interstate trips are becoming very boring and expensive.

Pete,
You don't lose it that suddenly. There are a couple of possible causes;
1 - you are doing something minor wrong. Get a coach to have a look at you, sometimes new eyes pick things up. Or a video camera and go over your swing bit by bit.

2 - Everything changes with time, even hands. I went through a lean spell at the start of the year. Finally went down 1/8" in span and started to bowl well again (better, anyway). Even a new feel in the ball can sharpen up the release again. Check your fit.

3 - You're using the wrong hand
icon_wink.gif

Rob.

If you think your game is still sharp, chances are the ball needs to be refitted to suit your "new" hand.(older at least)

The cost of some entries is so expensive these days a refitted ball can make all the difference

or the ball surface has flat spots, assumming it is an old one

or the ball surface needs to be resurfaced.