Bowling again after 19 years

Loose Cannon

Bowlers always have time to spare.
Hi Everyone,

A newbie here. I'm currently about to take up competitive bowling again after 19 year lay off. I have bowled socially in that time even with bowling house balls i am getting 150-160's, so i feel i have still got my mojo.

I was a junior bowler for 5 years and had an average of 180 at my peak and was a fingertip bowler,played and travelled to many junior championships at the time , when my local centre closed i gave up bowling when i was 17 and went and played rugby league. Now i'm 36 retired from footy im getting back to bowling as there is a new centre where i am living now, and like to bowl competitvely again. I understand alot has changed in the sport over this time especially with balls so i was wondering if someone can ask me the following questions.

1- Being approx 18-20 years old ,Will my old balls still be ok to use ? I would probably need re drilling as my hands have grown over the years, or best to get a new ball.

2- If a new ball is the case what would you reccomend? My technique would be fingertip again. I used to bowl with brunswick,columbia and the angle.

Any other feedback is much appreciated.

Cheers

They'll all be pre-reactive balls you now have?
Seeing that you've been manageing socially with house balls, why don't you have one of your old balls re-drilled to fit ( if necessary), bowl with it for a few weeks ( Months?), during which time you can familiarise yourself with the current 'scene' and you will be in a good position to make probably a pretty good choice about new equipment?

Definately use your old equipment first. Get it plugged and get your layout re measured by a reputable driller. Then get them to punch up your old stuff just to ensure the fit is good. You don't want to spend money on good gear only to have to plug and re drill them.