newbie question

slayer

Hiya...

I am completely new to bowling and i am in the process of organising a lesson.

but i went out the other day after watching alot of videos online and 1 thing i had a question on is:

my understanding is that your wrist/hand shouldnt bend back at any point in the swing? but how do you prevent your wrist from bending back at the beginning when you start your swing and when your arm is pointing to the floor... i found that as soon as as my arm was pointing to the floor then my wrist would bend back due to gravity and the bowl... maybe i was swinging too slow?

cheers!

Hi,

Bending your wrist back is something that happens alot in bowling.

The only two ways i know how to stop the problem is

1) Buy a wrist support, to hold your wrist straight during the arm swing

2) Start doing exercises to strengthen the muscles in your wrist, the one i was taught was to get a length of dowel rod(or similar) big enough to hold onto with both hands leaving a reasonable space in between. Then attach a length of rope with a weight on one end to the rod and then just wind the string up and unwind it, repeating it a number of times daily.

If I'm wrong with any of the above, I'm sure someone will correct me

Unless you have a pre-existing condition, don't buy a wrist support. Watch some PBA telecasts and count the number of guys using wrist supports... Zero. (Sorry - Pet hate. I'll get off my soapbox now.)

Now I've said what not to do. Here's what TO do. A quick lesson in biomechanics first.

Look at your hand, palm facing you. Go on. Look at it. Good. Now imagine you are going to throw a cricket ball. What two fingers would you throw the ball with? More than likely you would use your index and middle fingers. That's because this side (called the pincer side) of your hand is 40% stronger than the ring finger/little finger side.