Hey all ... I want to get GOOD.

E

Ernie McCracken

Hey people, I'm 29 and have started tenpin bowling on a weekly basis for the past 4 weeks with my cousin. I rarely bowl (just ONCE a year at most!), but have always been OK at it (pretty good control). My cousin and I both got the bowling bug a few months back for whatever reason and decided to do it regularly (2-3 games per week). We aim to join a league soon.

As an amateur, my goal has always been to bowl 100+. In 4 weeks, that goal has been revised as I start to get the hang of it. I have bowled scores of 198, 172, 159, 139, etc. over the past 4 weeks with plastic house balls and dirty alley shoes. My goal now is to bowl 125 as a MINIMUM score, 150 as a GOOD score, and anything above 175 is a BONUS. I'm looking at purchasing a proper ball soon, and buying an entry level pair of shoes to really make the effort to become a good bowler. I've also started watching the Masters on Foxtel to learn as much as possible from the experts.

I'm pretty good at accuracy with the plastic ball - bowl straight, hope not to hit the head pin straight on, hope for a strike, and clean up the remaining pin(s). What I don't know how to do, is swing/curl the ball like a 'pro'. Obviosuly, plastic house balls aren't really going to cut it, hence my want for a real ball (I'm looking at the 12lb Raw Hammer Anger as I bowl on AMF lanes and they are generally very oily in the Melbourne area).

My questions: What is the best way to go about learning the basics of proper tenpin bowling? Are there any clinics or local coaches? Are they reasonably priced? Any other links or things I can do to become a good bowler? I want to be able to confidentally break the 200 mark regularly. Wishful thinking?

Any input would be greatly appreciated...

Michael,

Welcome to the bowling bug! :) I commend anyone who's trying to improve.