how far in is best?

• Thread starter The Space Cowboy
  • Start date
T

The Space Cowboy

I've been bowling for approximately 10 years and have always bowled straight, with moderate success. However I'm looking to try to learn to hook bowl which would more than likely mean a new ball (that will go down well with the missus as I have just had one for christmas!!!). But I have heard that some hook bowlers use a conventional finger grip and others use a "fingertip grip", whereby the fingers are inserted into the holes to only the first knuckle. What are the advantages/disadvantages of these grips in relation to hook bowling and which grip would be best for someone learning to hook bowl?

The Space Cowboy ](*,)

If you're just starting to learn how to bowl hook you should probably just start with a conventional grip. When you feel comfortable bowling hook then you can change to a fingertip grip, which will allow you to get more revs on the ball.

wouldnt it be better to start with finger tip so you dont get hooked on using conventional and have to in efect learn to bowl it twice? i know im learning finger tip when i start in a week or two.

C O'Shea

If you want to hook the ball you need to do two things first ,1 find a coach that will teach the Skills Drills,these should have some form of certificate,2 get yourself a second hand ball of reasonable condition, preferably urethane or reactive urethane and get it drilled fingertip.There's no need spending up big on a new ball until you start to average over 190,why because until you hit 190 you are missing a lot of spares so the money saved on buying new equipment would be better spent on coaching and practice.
To answer your question on the difference between conventional and fingertip is the extra time the fingers stay in to exert lift on the ball,it may seem minute but thats all it takes.