Feel like Im going to really embarrass myself

K

Khysanth

Hey everyone,

I only just find this website after 4 years of bowling. I have a question to ask, cause I just put my name down to play in a competition at Chadstone for this Sunday and its my first 'scratch' tournament and lately my games are really going down hill. This is my first year using a finger tip grip ball and its a super power pearl, 15lbs. It took me a while to get used to it, but since I have I have converted my average from 160 to now 174. Now you might say this is great, and well done, however at the very start of the season for almost 4 months I was averaging low 190's.

I was reading some of the other threads about concentration and stuff, and took notes but my mental game seems to be ok majority of the time. Of course I do have my bad nights etc, and good nights too. However, lately I have noticed a big trend that my Super Power Pearl is not hooking as well as it did in the first game of the night or practice. Now I am only a small guy, being 5'6", weighing approx. 65-70kg. I also use one of those wrist guards to keep my wrist straight, to keep behind the ball and make sure I have forward roll with a 45degree hook roll. The lanes are generally rolled over by the centre machines prior to our nights league games, so they are well oiled (exactly what a SPP is good for). The SPP, for those who haven't used, has a nice slide, grab and roll into the deep corner end and a sharp back end bite into the headpin.