Straight bowling

O

Ozmoz

I've given up trying to turn the ball at Knox center. You wonder why petrol prices are so high.. its because they are using all the oil!!!!! Plus the constant breakdowns arrgghh!!!!!

I'm having far better luck straight bowling with a slight curve.

I'm wondering is there a bowling ball made for straight bowling? A reactive type of ball? Everything I've been looking shows you how good they are for turning.

Also, I'm no expert, I just love the game. I was told the other day when you wear those ebonite wrist guard thingo's you are actually meant to get the ball drilled to suit. Is that right?

Regards, Oz

Yeah ya probablly lookin at a ebonite maxim around $120 at most pro shops. You could even go for a very dry lane ball like a storm tornado. And yeah agreeing with rowey you can get balls drilled to what you want by putting in a certain direction to the pin and stuff (i think :D )
My two cents

LATER ;)

I have an Ebonite tornado. When it was new it was great hooking on medium oil, but now its died a bit. Have just bought the V2 Sweet and only use my tornado now for the 6 and 10 pin. Its still a great ball, just doesnt work hard enough for the oil at my centre.

The best way to bowl straight would be as was said, buying a polyester like the maxim and/or get it drilled full finger rather than finger tip.

Ozmoz
Sorry to disagree with the other posters, but I think you should look at a more aggressive ball and/or drilling plus some coaching to get you back enjoying the game.

Judging by your comments, you need some help with technique to get the ball moving and carrying pins plus if the lanes are flooded (?) with oil, a Tornado or a polyester won't be of much help as you won't even get your slight curve. Might just skid through the pins altogether and this will not help you score. Since I have gone back to bowling with a specific coach, I am much happier about my technique and therefore am enjoying the game a lot more.